BAFTA Awards: Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom Emerges As Big Winner on Opening Night, Check Full List of Winners Here

The unconventional 74th edition of the British Academy Film Awards (BAFTAs) held its first of two ceremonies on April 10, with the second one scheduled for the subsequent day. ‘Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom’ was the big winner on the opening night, taking home two golden masks.

According to Variety, the first night of the 2021 BAFTAs, which was hosted virtually from London’s Royal Albert Hall by TV and BBC radio presenter Clara Amfo, was a mostly craft-centered affair that also yielded wins for ‘Mank’, ‘Tenet’ and ‘Sound of Metal’.

During the ceremony, eight primarily craft-focussed awards were handed out, including casting, costume, makeup and hair, production design, sound, special visual effects, British short film, and British short animation. The remaining awards — including the performance and best film categories will be handed out on the second night.

- Advertisement -

‘Rocks’ was the first winner, with Lucy Pardee scooping the award for Casting. The UK indie movie was nominated for a leading seven BAFTAs this year, joint most with ‘Nomadland’, which is a hot favourite for the Best Film prize on the second night.

Director and writer Noel Clarke, best known for the ‘Kidulthood’ film trilogy were honoured with the outstanding British contribution to cinema award. Supporting actor nominee Leslie Odom Jr. performed ‘Speak Now’, his Oscar-nominated song from One Night in Miami, for which he has earned a best-supporting actor BAFTA nomination.

Unsurprisingly, Netflix had a good evening, following its mammoth 34 nominations, by far the leading number for a distributor this year. The streamer took home prizes including Costume Design and Hair & Make-up, which both went to ‘Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom’s’, and Production Design, which was scooped by ‘Mank’.

- Advertisement -

Here’s a complete list of winners:

Best Film: The Father, The Mauritanian, Nomadland – winner, Promising, Young Woman, The Trial Of The Chicago 7

Outstanding British Film: Calm With Horses, The Dig, The Father, His House, Limbo, The Mauritanian, Mogul Mowgli, Promising Young Woman – winner, Rocks, Saint Maud

- Advertisement -

Leading Actress: Bukky Bakray (Rocks), Radha Blank (The 40-Year-Old Version), Vanessa Kirby (Pieces Of A Woman), Frances McDormand (Nomadland) – winner, Wunmi Mosaku (His House), Alfre Woodard (Clemency)

Leading Actor: Riz Ahmed (Sound Of Metal), Anthony Hopkins (The Father) – winner, Adarsh Gourav (The White Tiger), Mads Mikkelsen (Another Round), Tahar Rahim (The Mauritanian), Chadwick Boseman (Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom)

Supporting Actress: Niamh Algar (Calm With Horses), Kosar Ali (Rocks), Maria Bakalova (Borat Subsequent Moviefilm), Dominique Fishback (Judas And The Black Messiah), Ashley Madekwe (County Lines)
Yuh-Jung Youn (Minari) – winner

Supporting Actor: Daniel Kaluuya (Judas And The Black Messiah) – winner, Barry Keoghan (Calm With Horses), Alan Kim (Minari), Leslie Odom Jr. (One Night In Miami…), Clarke Peters (Da 5 Bloods), Paul Raci (Sound Of Metal)

Director: Thomas Vinterberg (Another Round), Shannon Murphy (Babyteeth), Lee Isaac Chung (Minari), Chloé Zhao (Nomadland) – winner, Jasmila Žbanić (Quo Vadis, Aida?), Sarah Gavron (Rocks)

Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer: His House – winner, Limbo, Moffie, Rocks, Saint Maud

Animated Film: Onward, Soul – winner, Wolfwalkers

Adapted Screenplay: The Dig, The Father – winner, The Mauritanian, Nomadland, The White Tiger

Original Screenplay: Another Round, Mank, Promising Young Woman – winner, Rocks, The Trial Of The Chicago 7

Cinematography: Judas And The Black Messiah, Mank, The Mauritanian, News Of The World, Nomadland – winner

EE Rising Star Award: Bukky Bakray – winner, Conrad Khan, Kingsley Ben-Adir, Morfydd Clark, Ṣọpẹ́ Dìrísù

Documentary: Collective, David Attenborough: A Life On Our Planet, The Dissident, My Octopus Teacher – winner, The Social Dilemma

Film Not in the English Language: Another Round – winner, Dear Comrades!, Les Misérables, Minari, Quo Vadis, Aida?

Original Score: Mank, Minari, News Of The World, Promising Young Woman, Soul – winner

Editing: The Father, Nomadland, Promising Young Woman, Sound Of Metal – winner, The Trial Of The Chicago 7

Outstanding Contribution To Cinema: Noel Clarke – winner

Fellowship: Ang Lee

Sound: Sound Of Metal, Jaime Baksht, Nicolas Becker, Phillip Bladh, Carlos Cortes, Michelle Couttolenc – Winner, Greyhound, Beau Borders, Christian P. Minkler, Michael Minkler, Warren Shaw, David WymanNews Of The World, Michael Fentum, William Miller, Mike Prestwood Smith, John Pritchett, Oliver TarneyNomadland, Sergio Diaz, Zach Seivers, M. Wolf SnyderSoul, Coya Elliott, Ren Klyce, David Parker.

Special Visual Effects: Tenet, Scott Fisher, Andrew Jackson, Andrew Lockley – Winner, Greyhound, Pete Bebb, Nathan Mcguinness, Sebastian Von OverheidtThe Midnight Sky, Matt Kasmir, Chris Lawrence, David WatkinsMulan, Sean Faden, Steve Ingram, Anders Langlands, Seth MauryThe One And Only Ivan, Santiago Colomo Martinez, Nick Davis, Greg Fisher.

British Short Animation: The Owl And The Pussycat, Mole Hill, Laura Duncalf – Winner, The Fire Next Time, Renaldho Pelle, Yanling Wang, Kerry Jade KolbeThe Song Of A Lost Boy, Daniel Quirke, Jamie Macdonald, Brid Arnstein.

British Short Film: The Present, Farah Nabulsi – Winner, Eyelash, Jesse Lewis Reece, Ike Ike NewmanLizard, Akinola Davies, Rachel Dargavel, Wale DaviesLucky Break, John Addis, Rami Sarras PantojaMiss Curvy, Ghada Eldemellawy.

Production Design: Mank, Donald Graham Burt, Jan Pascale – Winner, The Dig, Maria Djurkovic, Tatiana MacdonaldThe Father, Peter Francis, Cathy FeatherstoneNews Of The World, David Crank, Elizabeth KeenanRebecca, Sarah Greenwood, Katie Spencer

Makeup & Hair: Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom, Matiki Anoff, Larry M. Cherry, Sergio Lopez-Rivera, Mia Neal – (WINNER)The Dig, Jenny ShircoreHillbilly Elegy, Patricia Dehaney, Eryn Krueger Mekash, Matthew MungleMank, Kimberley Spiteri, Gigi WilliamsPinocchio, Mark Coulier
Costume Design: Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom, Ann Roth – Winner, Ammonite, Michael O’connorThe Dig, Alice BabidgeEmma, Alexandra ByrneMank, Trish Summerville.

Casting: Rocks, Lucy Pardee – Winner, Calm with Horses, Shaheen BaigJudas and the Black Messiah, Alexa L. FogelMinari, Julia KimPromising Young Woman, Lindsay Graham Ahanonu, Mary Vernieu.

The 74th edition of the BAFTAs was opened by paying tribute to the late Prince Philip, who died yesterday at the age of 99. The Duke of Edinburgh was BAFTA’s first president 60 years ago, beginning a line of Royal patronage which continues with his son Prince William, who had been scheduled to make an appearance during the awards but had to pull out after the news of the demise of his grandfather.

Latest news

- Advertisement -

You might also like