Barcelona, Lionel Messi Gets First-Ever Red Card in Club Football Career as lost to Athletic Bilbao in Spanish Super Cup Final

-

Tempers flared at the Estadio La Cartuja de Sevilla as two Spanish giants Barcelona and Athletic Bilbao went head to head in the Super Cup final on Sunday.

Barcelona, captain Lionel Messi has been shown his first-ever red card since his career Barcelona as the Catalan giants were beaten 3-2 in the Spanish Super Cup final. The Argentine was red-carded in the 753rd game of his career for Barcelona.

As Barcelona was pressing hard looking for an equalizer, Messi caught Asier Villalibre with a right hook in the back of the head, knocking his opponent on the ground.

- Advertisement -

The center referee Gil Manzano who had missed the incident was called for a VAR review and upon replay, the official showed Messi straight red card.

This is surprising as Messi is not someone who shows his emotions on the pitch. Just goes to show the pressure Barcelona was under.

Antoine Griezmann continues his recent revival by finding the net twice only for Oscar de Marcos and Villalibre to reply for the Basques. Indeed, their second equalizer came in the 90th minute of the game.

- Advertisement -

Earlier, Antonie Griezmann opened the scoring in the 40th-minute of the game to get Barcelona in the lead. But the lead lasted merely two minutes as Bilbao levelled things when Oscar de Marcos scored.

Barcelona once again took the lead when Griezmann scored his second in the 77th-minute of the match. Just when it seemed all was over for Bilbao, they came back with two late goals in the 90th and 93rd-minute from Asier Villalibre and Inaki Williams.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Comment moderation is enabled. Your comment may take some time to appear.

Latest Updates

- Advertisment -

#Trending