Inter Milan crowned Serie A champions since 2010

Inter Milan won its first Serie A title in 11 years after second-place Atalanta drew 1-1 at Sassuolo on Sunday, ending the nine-year title run of Juventus.

With four matches remaining, Milan clinched their 19th national title without playing, because their only remaining rivals Atalanta failed to win in a 1-1 draw at mid-table Sassuolo and trail by 13 points.

Atalanta had goalkeeper Pierluigi Gollino sent off early, still led from Germany defender Robin Gosens’ effort in the 32nd, but Sassololo leveled in the 52nd from Domenico Berardi’s penalty and Luis Muriel then failed to convert a late penalty for Atalanta after Sassuolo’s Marlon was dismissed.

- Advertisement -

The 51-year-old Antonio Conte took over Inter in 2019 and lifted the trophy after finishing second last season.

Inter, had beat Crotone 2-0 on Saturday, denied Juventus a 10th straight league title with Andrea Pirlo’s side now fighting for a Champions League spot.

“We are succeeding in toppling a kingdom that had lasted for nine years,” Inter coach Conte told reporters, referring to his team denying Juve a tenth successive Serie A title.

- Advertisement -

“We’re aware that we can do something extraordinary because Inter haven’t won a Scudetto in 11 years, and we’re breaking up a dynasty,” added Conte, who is a former Juve.

Their last trophy was the Coppa Italia in 2011 and they missed out on the Champions League for six seasons before Luciano Spalletti returned them to Europe’s top club competition in 2018.

Latest news

- Advertisement -

You might also like